What are enhanced codes?

Last Updated: Nov 24, 2017 04:56PM NST

Standard or "Generic" Codes

Standard or "generic" codes (sometimes called "P codes") are a set of standardized diagnostic codes that turn on the check engine light and will be readable on any OBDII compatible vehicle regardless of the year and model.

Standard codes generally cover the engine and emissions equipment and will report issues such as misfires, evap leaks, failing O2 sensors, etc.


Enhanced or Manufacturer Codes

Enhanced codes cover all non-engine related vehicle systems, including:
  • ABS
  • Airbags
  • Transmission
  • Body Control Module (lights, turn signals, doors, etc)
  • HVAC
  • Stereo
  • Transfer case/4WD/AWD
  • etc
Enhanced codes are different for every manufacturer and are not accessible using generic scan tools, typically you will see four different types:
  1. P Codes - Powertrain related (enhanced engine codes, transmission, etc)
  2. C Codes - Chassis systems (ABS,  suspension etc)
  3. B Codes - Body codes (BCM, HVAC, SRS, Stereo, etc)
  4. U Codes - Generally electrical/vehicle network related (e.g. modules no longer responding, etc)

To check what codes are supported on your vehicle, enter your year, make, and model here!

Contact Us

seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
Invalid characters found